Viasat Internet Definitive Buyers Guide

Rosslyn Elliott

Written by Rosslyn Elliott - Pub. Jul. 27, 2023 / Updated Apr. 4, 2024






















Experience






















Service






















Pricing






















Speed






















Pricing






















Reliability & Performance






















Equipment, Installation & Features






















Customer Experience & Support























Overall Rating






















Staff Overall Review

It looks like you’re using DigitalOcean, LLC Internet

Are you happy with this Internet service?
Not my provider

Viasat Staff Review

3.9

Viasat delivers quality satellite internet with good range of prices and speeds

Viasat is one of three major U.S. satellite internet providers, the other two being HughesNet and Starlink [1]. The chief advantage of satellite internet is its wide availability. If you have an unobstructed view of the southern sky, you can get satellite internet access at your home. People in rural and remote areas have relied on satellite internet for decades. Satellite internet can also be a great backup plan for small businesses in the event of severe outages for cable or fiber internet. Satellite internet service does have some unique characteristics based on its technology. It will be more expensive than most other forms of internet service. Your internet connection with satellite will be slower than with cable or fiber. But with Viasat’s new satellite just launched and more new satellites on the way, you will get faster speeds than satellite has ever offered before. Viasat and HughesNet have dominated the U.S. satellite internet market for years. Starlink is a newcomer from Elon Musk’s SpaceX [2]. Though Starlink shows promise, it is still too new to have a trusted operational track record. There are long wait lists for Starlink in some areas [3]. Viasat, by contrast, will get your internet up and running in an average of 3-5 days. Viasat also offers unlimited standard data and high data allowances for high-speed data.
PROS
Wide coverage means 99% of U.S. households can get satellite internet Unlimited standard data Higher speeds than other satellite providers
CONS
Slower than fiber or cable internet Higher latency or “ping” Can experience temporary “rain fade” during heavy rain or snow
$99.99
Lowest price package
150 Mbps
Highest Speed
Unleashed 150
Most Popular Package
3.75
Customer Rating
3.9
Staff Rating
Call today & find the best Viasat internet deals
1-833-926-2709

Pricing

3.5

Viasat offers a variety of price points and speeds to fit your budget

Viasat offers much higher speeds than its longtime competitor, HughesNet. While HughesNet only offers download speeds up to 25 Mbps, Viasat offers download speeds up to 150 Mbps in select areas. For the first-tier Viasat internet plan at 12 Mbps download speed, you will pay an introductory price of about $50/month.. For the 25 Mbps download/3 Mbps upload plan, you will start with a $70/month charge. These Viasat internet plan prices are comparable to HughesNet prices and cheaper than Starlink prices. Viasat features many more plan options than HughesNet, and much higher allowances for monthly high-speed data. All Viasat plans come with unlimited standard data, so you don’t have to worry about overage charges. And where HughesNet will only grant you up to 200 GB of monthly high-speed data, Viasat has plans that go up to 500 GB/month. To give you a rough idea of how much data that is, you can watch about 500 hours of HD movie streaming with 500 GB. The highest data plans from both HughesNet and Viasat will cost you more, of course. The 200 GB plan from HughesNet is $150/month. The 500 GB plan from Viasat is $300/month. But as you can see from comparing those prices, Viasat’s top plan gives you more for your dollar. And if you just really need a lot of high-speed data, Viasat is the clear choice. Be aware that like HughesNet, Viasat requires a two-year contract. If you cancel early, you will pay an early termination fee. You can get a no-contract plan for a non-refundable upfront payment of $500. Viasat has also launched plans called “Liberty” plans, which have free, unlimited data from 3 a.m. to 6 a.m. “Choice” plans are on the way with a slightly different pricing structure as well, deploying as the new satellite begins service. So Viasat customers will have no shortage of options. You can type in your zip code here at CompareInternet.com to see details of all the Viasat plans available to you. If you work from home, you have a great new option from Viasat. Viasat Office Hours is an optional service that allows you to use standard work-related applications from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. local time without consuming any of your High-Speed plan data. You will be able to use Google, Office 365, Adobe programs, Sharepoint, Zoom, MS Teams, and many other popular applications. Viasat Office Hours is currently available for an additional $40/month, and many employers may be willing to reimburse you for the plan given its exclusive business focus. Office Hours is a pricing offer unique to Viasat, and could be a game changer for remote workers.
Plan
Service Type
Download Speed
Monthly Price
Unleashed 150
$100 Gift Card! Free Professional Installation!
Satellite Internet Up to 150 Mbps Only $99.99

/w No Annual Contract.

*Offers and availability may vary by location and are subject to change.
1-833-926-2709
Call today & find the best Viasat internet deals
1-833-926-2709

Enter a zip code or address to unlock the best Internet deals near you!

Reliability and Performance

4.0

Viasat delivers fast, reliable internet with ever-improving technology

Viasat recently launched the ViaSat-3 Americas satellite, which will increase bandwidth and speed for Viasat customers [4]. The Viasat fleet will continue to grow in 2023 and 2024, keeping Viasat at the head of the industry in geosynchronous satellite technology. You’ll get a solid, reliable internet connection from Viasat. Keep in mind that the military uses satellite internet for their operations. That’s because satellite internet survives in circumstances when cable or fiber internet might be out for days or weeks. Satellite internet can’t be harmed by an earthly accident, a weather catastrophe, or an attack on wired infrastructure. So in that sense, satellite internet is more reliable than wired internet. That’s why Viasat offers special “backup internet” plans for small businesses to minimize service disruption from outages. It’s true that heavy rain or snow can sometimes cause “rain fade,” which is a weakening or interruption in the satellite internet signal. But rain fade is only temporary. The one caveat about your Viasat internet speed is that your maximum speed will vary depending on where you live. Your plan options can vary from 12 Mbps to 150 Mbps download speed. That’s a wide range, but your speed may be better than DSL in many instances. Upload speeds from Viasat will remain consistent for all plans at about 3 Mbps.
Call today & find the best Viasat internet deals
1-833-926-2709

Equipment, Installation and Bonus Features

4.0

Viasat equipment: buy upfront or take option of monthly rental fee

If you want to buy your Viasat dish and modem/router upfront, it will cost you $299. That will save you some money if you don’t have to pay the monthly rental fee of $13 for two years. For customers whose credit scores qualify, installation is free. But all others will pay a $100 installation fee.
Call today & find the best Viasat internet deals
1-833-926-2709

Customer Experience & Support

4.0

Viasat’s customer satisfaction average, but 24/7 customer support is strong

On many popular online review sites, Viasat tends to score slightly above average for customer satisfaction. When customers are not satisfied, their comments are often related to the innate differences of satellite technology. It’s true that satellite speeds cannot approach the speeds of cable or fiber. That’s why it’s not too surprising that Viasat has some customers online who are not happy that their speeds are not fast enough. But it’s hard to get a more objective read on overall customer satisfaction, because Viasat does not appear in the J.D. Power 2022 Survey of Residential Internet Service Customer Satisfaction. Viasat does provide extensive online and phone support, with live reps available 24/7 to help with any issues. The online resource library is clear and on target with common types of information that customers might need. Viasat also has a convenient online portal called My Viasat to manage any aspect of your service. My Viasat also works through an app that you can download on your smartphone. The EasyCare service may also be worth the $9/month you will pay to have all your service calls covered ($95), a dish relocation covered ($200), and premium customer support with the dedicated EasyCare line.
Call today & find the best Viasat internet deals
1-833-926-2709

FAQ's

Where can I order Viasat internet service?
To order or learn more, call the number on this page or visit ViasatDeals.com.
How does Viasat internet work? 
Viasat internet uses a modem and dish system to transmit user requests to satellites, which then connect to a gateway station on the ground network.
Where is Viasat internet available?
Viasat internet covers all 50 states of the United States as well as Canada.
What are the advantages of Viasat internet over DSL or LTE services?
Viasat internet frequently offers faster speeds compared to DSL or LTE services.
Can I stream HD videos with Viasat internet?
Yes, Viasat’s data plans and speed will allow you to stream HD videos.
How is data usage measured with Viasat internet?
Data usage with Viasat internet is measured in gigabytes, and your monthly allowance for high-speed data can vary from 60 GB to 500 GB.
Is gaming possible with Viasat internet?
Gaming is possible on Viasat internet, but performance may vary depending on the game and latency issues. Real-time games are not recommended due to their high data consumption and issues with latency.
Call today & find the best Viasat internet deals
1-833-926-2709
You are currently comparing:
Vs.

Viasat Customers Reviews






















Pricing






















Reliability & Performance






















Equipment, Installation & Features






















Customer Experience & Support























Overall Rating

N/A
Helen L from Homosassa, FL
May 2024
Good option if you don't have any access to regular internet.
Linda Chang from Lincolnton, NC
May 2024
Great so far.
Katie S from Newton, NC
May 2024
I’m very pleased with my service
Jeannie Tyler from Center, TX
May 2024
We live out of town and it still works great
Brianna D from Mexia, TX
May 2024
👍
Yanisel YGH from Georgetown, TX
May 2024
To new to asses
Patricia N from Kuna, ID
May 2024
I can get faster speeds for half the price with nextlink
Elizabeth K from Kerens, TX
May 2024
We love our service and it's very reliable
Jennifer Brown from Beechgrove, TN
May 2024
Prompt service. Very knowledgable service technician.
Vicki M from Dadeville, AL
May 2024
Great service
Jack R from Slatyfork, WV
May 2024
Thank you
Amir L from Bradley, CA
May 2024
Service & signal could be much better
BreMeshia R from Forney, TX
May 2024
A LITTLE MORE PRICEY THAN I WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD DURING THE PHONE CONVERSATION.
LYN M from Colbert, OK
May 2024
good service
Jonatha R from Newman, CA
May 2024
thanks you
Julianne K from Windsor, NY
May 2024
Working ok
Heather K from Milwaukee, WI
April 2024
Customer service was not great
Tim H from Remlap, AL
April 2024
Good service
Dena S from Port Arthur, TX
April 2024
Love the reliability and speed with Viasat. Definitely meets our needs.
Michele M Brinson from Coldwater, MS
April 2024
Great!
Mallory H from Wolcottville, IN
April 2024
The internet is not slow but not fast either. It's good for watching YouTube videos and such, but not good for working from home because the latency is very high in the 200 -300.
Hector B from Dunnellon, FL
April 2024
The pricing I was told and the pricing that I am paying are not the same, but the internet has been helpful.
Sarah F from Vonore, TN
April 2024
Installers were really nice
Bruce R from Luling, TX
April 2024
None
Robert C from Hastings, FL
April 2024
Great
Justin E from Kingston, OK
April 2024
Everything is good.
Corinna G from Dale, TX
April 2024
Ok
Joshua Jd from Bartow, FL
April 2024
I love that the internet is by satellite because I live in a rural area
Jennie G from Cottonwood, AZ
April 2024
Nome
Jesus G from Karnack, TX
April 2024
Great service
Joseph J from Falcon, CO
April 2024
Connection speed is significantly slower than advertised- this will cause issues with customers-
Daniel R from Hollister, CA
April 2024
Installation took two weeks to Install after the initial appointment was scheduled. Customer service representative input my address wrong which caused initial delay and then my my appointment was rescheduled a second time due to wrong equipment. My phone works faster without the WiFi enabled. Security system camera doesn’t even work due to lack of a strong connection.
Brooklyn W from Rosharon, TX
April 2024
Not bad service for me and my daughter
Michealla S from Rich Square, NC
April 2024
Poor customer service
Jessica C from Durant, OK
April 2024
Great customer service
Susan G from Brownsville, TN
April 2024
Customer service was helpful upon getting an account set up and installation coordinated. The installation technician was on time, knowledgeable, kind, and did the job efficiently.
Brittany S from Goldendale, WA
April 2024
Ok for satellite
James F from Crab Orchard, KY
April 2024
I live out in the sticks. I have not had internet since I moved here over a year ago. I have been very grateful for Viasat. my only complaint is inconsistent speeds. The most mbps that I have gotten is 44 and sometimes it runs (barely) at 6.
Laura W from Galena, MO
April 2024
I really love the internet services !!!
JUANA B from Meherrin, VA
April 2024
Great customer service
Adrian Gryer G from Eagle Point, OR
April 2024
Internet Speed is slow
Ravi Kumar batta from Prosper, TX
April 2024
Great service
Alberto O from San Antonio, TX
April 2024
dhd
Donny B from Seffner, FL
April 2024
NA
stacy zaragoza from Von Ormy, TX
April 2024
Great service installer
OLAN W from Ty Ty, GA
March 2024
NA
Robert H from Effingham, SC
March 2024
Good service
Robert B from Clanton, AL
March 2024
Great service so far
Katherine W from Auburn, AL
March 2024
Good
Darlene B from Marion, AR
March 2024
Better than I expected for Satellite internet.
Caleb H from Pittsburg, TX
March 2024
Everything great
Jennifer from Forkland, AL
March 2024
None
Bobby J from New Lebanon, OH
March 2024
Ok
Samantha C from Corralitos, CA
March 2024
High prices!
Valerie B from Edgewood, MD
March 2024
Great internet.
Amber B from Smiths, AL
March 2024
The technician was very knowledgeable very professional did an excellent job installing it.
Linda A from Alma, AR
March 2024
works great and technician was in and out hooking up
Kala S from Nashville, IL
March 2024
Nice
Tawnya Ayers from Crystal River, FL
March 2024
I have a different Mailing address
LISA from Albuquerque, NM
March 2024
I have only been at this location for a month. Installation was fast and the installer was very informative and helpful. Service seems to very reliable.
Carol M from Blackshear, GA
March 2024
Very satisfied with the internet service
Harrison J from East Bernstadt, KY
March 2024
Was going to change provider until my husband was talked into staying with a promotion
Gale Domangue D from Thibodaux, LA
February 2024
Not the best at all
Sabian D from Thomasville, GA
February 2024
It's pricey, got 150GB and was told that should be enough to stream 3 devices a month, lasted 10 days.
Jhonny M from Newport, AR
February 2024
Prices are way to high
Alexis W from Birchwood, TN
February 2024
Internet Service is not as satisfactory as I thought it would be.
Abby Madrigal from Laveen, AZ
February 2024
I was not pleased with this internet provider
Emily V from San Antonio, TX
February 2024
Installer was very helpful & explained the installation.
Patricia F from Racine, OH
January 2024
GOOD.
Ruth K from Stuart, VA
January 2024
The tech was nice and pretty knowledgeable.
Donna C from Devine, TX
January 2024
I think that it’s a good service plan just sometimes the service goes out
ricardo P from Panorama City, CA
January 2024
Internet service is the absolute worst
Cindy A
January 2024
N/A
Chivona R from Utica, MS
January 2024
I love it
Latoya Walker W from Indianola, MS
January 2024
I think this company is taking advantage of customer
Jacqulin E from Redding, CA
January 2024
works fairly well. however never good enough signal to use the talk feature on remote
terence h from New Caney, TX
January 2024
Excellent service
Regina from Farmland, IN
January 2024
I was told it was $20 for first 2 months then after my bill came it was $20 off.
Irene J from Burnet, TX
January 2024
Yes
Mildred W from Keithville, LA
January 2024
No comment
Mildred W from Keithville, LA
January 2024
This service does not work at my house. It did well for 1 week. Called customer service, can't understand anything they say and can't get any help. All it does is buffer. I can't even get them to cancel service or help me. I can't pay for service that is not ok. My gigs were ran out in one week. We barely watch TV and no gaming at all.
Robin C from Timpson, TX
January 2024
Good service
Bob Dinger from Wofford Heights, CA
December 2023
Muy bueno y un excelente servició al cliente.
Mauricio T from Commerce, CA
December 2023
Internet doesn't work worth a crud. Customer service is nonexistent.
Lyn B from Dunnigan, CA
December 2023
Claim rebate
Jimmy C from Lumber City, GA
December 2023
Internet is outrageously expensive for what they offer compared to everybody else but when you have no choice that’s the only thing you’re stuck to getting
Jolie ortiz O from Houston, TX
December 2023
Reward card
Jesus C from Basile, LA
December 2023
my installer was excellent i wish the data didn't go so fast
Kristen S from Odessa, MO
December 2023
Good service
Jesus C from Eunice, LA
December 2023
hard to review features when just new to Viasat.
Lyn Moon from Phelan, CA
December 2023
Can’t go on the porch and have great coverage and the box is located about 25 feet away. Had to buy an additional WiFi box from Walmart with antennas to get coverage in the yard and it’s only one of the few companies in the area.
Tina J from Madison, GA
December 2023
Good customer service.
Abelino Ayala from Greenfield, CA
December 2023
Isn’t unlimited like I was told. I’m paying a lot of Money and can barely use it.
Megan W from Diana, TX
December 2023
So far so good
Sonya lopez L from Litchfield Park, AZ
December 2023
We had this installed for my mom. Overall, I would say the experience was good. However, Satellite internet always seems to suffer from high pings so don't expect to play online games without lag. Plus, you inevitably end up using your data cap within the 1st week each month and then your speeds are slowed. They don't slow as bad as HughesNet, but it's almost 2024 already... "unlimited" data should mean unlimited speed too.
David G from Larue, TX
December 2023
Ellie Tafjen from Santa Barbara, CA
December 2023
Viastat is great with communication and flexibility with installation. However, the cost is high for very slow internet. We were recommended the mbps plan by viastat that would best suit our needs and it works for the most part except for gaming systems and streaming. The internet does not function fast enough to play in gaming systems online or have great quality for streaming.
Sarah S from Senoia, GA
November 2023
None
Ashley Lewis from Mansfield, LA
November 2023
So far everything is good!!!
John W from Newberry, SC
November 2023
Very satisfied with the service and the installation process
Stephanie L from Barber, NC
November 2023
Gc
Ashley Y from Clarkston, WA
November 2023
Trash
November 2023
When the technician came out to my house and installed the dish he was having a hard time getting a signal due to bad weather, and I asked him if he that was gonna be a occurring problem and he said no that I shouldn’t have to worry about that. I tried to play some online games with their service and I couldn’t, after calling them they told me that because of the high latency I won’t be able to play any fast paced games. Another issue I encountered was my phone was connected to the wifi but everything kept buffering and taking forever to load, like the whole point of me getting their services was to “upgrade” to faster speeds. I was lied to and over charged they told me I would be paying about $165 a month for three months, and after that it’ll be $215 every month for speeds of 100mbps and 300GB of high speed internet. When I called them and tried to cancel it they told me they could give me 100mbps and 500GB for $100 a month. Like why not just offer me that in the first place, but anyway I will never chose their services again and will not be recommending them to anyone.
Alex T from Tangent, OR
November 2023
Performance has gotten progressively slower as time goes by. And it's sketchy even with a clear blue sky
Keith L from Llano, TX
November 2023
Not the greatest service offered, but it works in a pinch and their team is always ready to help with whatever issues may arise. Their support team is unrivaled. Overall though, their service is just okay.
Alan A from Cowan Heights, CA
October 2023
I really like my internet with Viastat
Dellron R from Longview, TX
October 2023
The service provider was friendly and polite.
Amber T from Philadelphia, MS
October 2023
This service is too expensive and the signal is poor in inclement weather. Fiber internet is far superior. I gave 4 stars because the only other option is Hughesnet and Viasat is better.
Amber T from Philadelphia, MS
October 2023
Great service and very nice installation
Brenda T from Harrison, MI
October 2023
Stressful first phone conversation and pressure to book that day even when I did not know when we were closing on our property. Installer was good and nice but did leave cigarette buts and some trash behind.
Heather h from Grapeland, TX
October 2023
Fast installation. Good internet quality.
Robert B from Whitesboro, TX
October 2023
Gift Card Reward for Amazon 100
Alexa Gonzalez from Farmersville, TX
October 2023
NA
Shelly M from Frankfort, IN
October 2023
Good
Juan C from Gainesville, TX
October 2023
It’s slow
Dana M from Odessa, TX
October 2023
The service technician was very helpful and courteous.
Elizabeth A from De Kalb, TX
October 2023
nothing
Janet G from Spotsylvania, VA
October 2023
They were quick and to the point no issues as of yet .
Samantha B from Madison, FL
October 2023
Internet speeds are great, doesn’t really work as well with gaming…. Streaming videos are flawless
Antwone R from Hempstead, TX
September 2023
Thank you.
Sarah S from Penrose, CO
September 2023
My technician was gorgeous 😍
Ashley Y from Clarkston, WA
September 2023
The customer service is ok. The problem is the connection is horrible. Barely 5mbs download speeds and I pay an exorbitant fee of $150 a month. It's ridiculous and I can't wait until Spectrum brings fiber optic cable through here. I'm immediately switching over and canceling Viasat.
Ophelia Hill from Ocala, FL
September 2023
We are new to Viasat but compared to our previous service provider it is great. It is pricey for senior citizens on a fixed income, even with the gov 30$ credit.
Cathy Roche from Chipley, FL
September 2023
Nothing
Michael J from Frankston, TX
September 2023
The Installation Technician was the absolute Best, very professional, kept our family up to date on his arrival, explained everything and did not mind questions. Would rate this Technician the highest rating possible
GY H from March Air Reserve Base, CA
September 2023
Been waiting for the rest of my equipment from the technician. However the communication wasn't completely cleared about installation. But its up and really no different between high speed vs reg. Sleed
Sarah from Gainesville, TX
September 2023
Na
Desmond M from San Augustine, TX
September 2023
I was hoping that Viasat was going to provide better internet than I had with ATT & Hughes Net. Unfortunately, the service is as slow as they were. I keep losing connection (clear skies/no rain). The price is higher than the other companies without better service. I really hate to leave a bad review but I am just being honest.
Maria J from Rutherfordton, NC
September 2023
The service we are receiving is not at all the service we signed up for. Bait and switch.
Anthony D from Columbia, MO
September 2023
Quick service. Internet is working good
Terry B from Clifton, TX
September 2023
:)
Guadalupe C from Tucson, AZ
September 2023
Technician could have been trained mechanically a little more when installing the satellite, but was well trained technically when installing the modem and router, He was very personable and polite.
Deidra H from Benton, MS
September 2023
Imrovement over Hughes Net
Donna E from Apple Springs, TX
September 2023
Na
Amanda N from El Paso, TX
September 2023
Lower price for the speed would be better
Margarita L from Kaufman, TX
September 2023
N/A
La’ Toya Broughton from Tyler, TX
September 2023
Plans are not very budget friendly
Elvia P from Valley Center, CA
September 2023
Overall, pleased so far with the Viasat internet. We needed to upgrade as we used more data than expected. My work computer is a little slow but it's through Citrix so I'm not surprised by that. TV streaming has been working well.
Lisa H from Overland Park, KS
September 2023
even with the high speed its still very slow and sometimes it dosen't even work.
Julie from Helendale, CA
September 2023
None
Mark L from Desert Hot Springs, CA
September 2023
Service technician did not appear to be the most competent installer and did not explain use of the 5g and2.4g wifi/lan.
ALBERT C from Clifton, TX
September 2023
Everything is working great!
Charles M from Bryan, TX
September 2023
Lose connectivity consistently.
Jeff M from Athens, TX
September 2023
Internet still buffers, it is also more expensive than others with more gigs.
Erica R from Trinidad, TX
September 2023
It's ok
Desiree from Oracle, AZ
September 2023
The Internet works fine, but the price is just horrible ! you will get charged a arm and leg and the service is just decent not high speed
Blake Bennett from Woodville, TX
September 2023
no additional comments
Karen T from Overton, TX
September 2023
I lost my wfh job due to poor internet service that the company advertised as being so much better than what it actually is.
Miracle J from Kaufman, TX
September 2023
Great internet provider
Latesha W from Gibsland, LA
September 2023
Good customer service
Dillon P from Conroe, TX
September 2023
Don't use this service, they do not care what you have going on. Couldn't even connect to the internet for school. 300GB was gone in 2 in a half weeks.
Charmiya J from Forney, TX
September 2023
Renee Duran from Burley, ID
October 2022
Maia Joyce from Brainerd, MN
January 2022
Matthew Clark from Unknown, LA
May 2021
Georgina Strickland from Unknown, TN
May 2020
Imogen O'Donnell from Tulsa, OK
January 2020